Stumbling on the List

When I first stumbled upon my research obsession I was looking for the connections between Sekhmet and Tefnut. I had always been curious over one of Sekhmet’s epithets, ‘Tefnut on Bigga.’ So I looked at works surrounding Bigga. Or Bigeh Island. It is located just south of Kom Ombo, another particularly interesting place I have my eye on, and the island was near the beginning of the Nile. It was said that Hapi, the god of the Inundation, lived in a cave in Bigeh. There was a wonderful book describing the temple on Bigeh and all its sculpture. What I learned was that Hethert-Tefnut featured prominently on Bigeh. The wandering eye.

from there, I had a night alone at one point and went through the internet looking for Sekhmet-Tefnut connections. The LAGG was hard enough to go through but I did find Sekhmet-Tefnut, and Sekhmet-Aset, and more. Thankfully someone had already gone through LAGG and found some interesting connections. It just goes to show you how inter-connected and huge the gods are. Plenty more research to find, gods to connect with, and people to talk to.

My current search is trying to find a list of the male eye gods. Happy hunting.

the list I stumbled on while out of town…

Wadjet-Sekhmet-Bast
Menhit-Sekhmet
Menhit-Sekhmet-Bast
Menhit-Sekhmet-Bast-Wadjet
Menhit-Tefnut
Mut-Wadjet-Sekhmet-Bast
Sekhmet-Aset
Sekhmet-Bast
Sekhmet-Bast-Werethekau
Sekhmet-Bast-Ra
Sekhmet-Bast-Tefnut
Sekhmet-Mut
Sekhmet-Menhit
Sekhmet-Nit
Sekhmet-Nut
Sekhmet-Hethert
Sekhmet-Tefnut

Modify message

Leave a Reply

